Nobel Prize Winners for 2008 thru 2018

Join Our Mailing List
The ME-P Congratulates New Nobel Laureates

[By Staff Reporters]ME-P Logo.2

Since 1901, the Nobel Prize has been honoring men and women from all corners of the globe for outstanding achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature, economics and for working in peace. The foundations for the prize were laid in 1895 when Alfred Nobel wrote his last will, leaving much of his wealth to the establishment of the Nobel Prize


The 2008 Winners:

Annals of Improbable Research Magazine

A paradoy of the Nobel Prize, the Ig Nobel Prizes are also given each year in early October — around the time the recipients of the genuine Nobel Prizes are announced — for ten achievements that “first make people laugh, and then make them think.” 

Here is a list of the 18th Ig Nobel winners, awarded on Thursday October 2, 2008, at Harvard University, by the Annals of Improbable Research [AIR] magazine.

2008 Ig Nobel Winners:

  • Nutrition: Massimiliano Zampini and Charles Spence for demonstrating that food tastes better when it sounds better.
  • Cognitive Science: Toshiyuki Nakagaki, Hiroyasu Yamada, Ryo Kobayashi, Atsushi Tero, Akio Ishiguro and Agota Toth for discovering that slime molds can solve puzzles.
  • Economics: Geoffrey Miller, Joshua Tyber and Brent Jordan for discovering that exotic dancers earn more when at peak fertility.
  • Physics: Dorian Raymer and Douglas Smith for proving that heaps of string or hair will inevitably tangle.
  • Chemistry: Sheree Umpierre, Joseph Hill and Deborah Anderson for discovering that Coca-Cola is an effective spermicide, and C.Y. Hong, C.C. Shieh, P. Wu and B.N. Chiang for proving it is not.
  • Literature: David Sims for his study “You Bastard: A Narrative Exploration of the Experience of Indignation within Organizations.”
  • Peace: The Swiss Federal Ethics Committee on Non-Human Biotechnology and the citizens of Switzerland for adopting the legal principle that plants’ have dignity.
  • Archaeology: Astolfo Gomes de Mello Araujo and Jose Carlos Marcelino for showing armadillos can scramble the contents of an archaeological dig.
  • Biology: Marie-Christine Cadiergues, Christel Joubert and Michel Franc for discovering that fleas that live on a dog can jump higher than fleas that live on a cat.
  • Medicine: Dan Ariely for demonstrating that expensive fake medicine is more effective than cheap fake medicine.


Do we really need Nobel, and Ig Nobel, prize winners each year?


Your thoughts and comments on this ME-P are appreciated. Feel free to review our top-left column, and top-right sidebar materials, links, URLs and related websites, too. Then, subscribe to the ME-P. It is fast, free and secure.


Speaker: If you need a moderator or speaker for an upcoming event, Dr. David E. Marcinko; MBA – Publisher-in-Chief of the Medical Executive-Post – is available for seminar or speaking engagements. Contact:



Product Details  Product Details

11 Responses

  1. ME-P Subscribers,

    We’ve just learned that Nobel Prize winner Norman Borlaug died at age 95. He was often called the father of the ‘green revolution’ and is credited with saving millions of lives.

    Read more:

    Hope Hetico; RN, MHA
    [Managing Editor]


  2. Three Americans Share 2009 Nobel Prize in Medicine

    Americans Elizabeth Blackburn, Carol Greider and Jack Szostak were just named winners of the 2009 Nobel Prize in medicine.

    Blackburn is a professor of biology and physiology at the University of California, San Francisco.

    Greider is a professor in the department of molecular biology and genetics at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine in Baltimore.

    Szostak is at Harvard Medical School and a professor of genetics at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston.


    ME-P Congrats!

    Ann Miller; RN, MHA
    [Executive Director]


  3. More Nobels in 2009

    Elinor Ostrom just became the first woman to win a Nobel Prize in economics, honored along with fellow American Oliver Williamson for analyzing economic governance — the rules by which people exercise authority in companies and economic systems.



  4. Immune system discoveries win 2011 medicine Nobel

    Three scientists who uncovered key secrets of how the body’s immune system works have just won the 2011 Nobel prize for medicine or physiology.

    Sweden’s Karolinska Institute said in a statement that the prize went to U.S. scientist Bruce Beutler, Luxembourg-born Jules Hoffmann, based in France, and Canadian-born Ralph Steinman, based in the United States


    Canadian-born Ralph Steinman, noted above, has died after a four-year battle with pancreatic cancer.

    Hope Rachel Hetico RN MHA CMP
    [Managing Editor]


  5. A Posthumous Nobel Prize?

    More on this sad event:

    Ann Miller RN MHA


  6. The Economics Nobel Prize for 2013

    Eugene Fama and Rober Shiller Win Nobel Economics Prize.

    This is an epic win for FAs; so read more.

    Ann Miller RN MHA


  7. The 2014 Economics Prize

    Jean Tirole – the French economist who has used game theory in an attempt to find ways to control the dominance of major companies – has won the Nobel prize for economics.

    Ann Miller RN MHA


  8. CONGRATS Angus,

    Princeton’s Angus Deaton wins Nobel economics prize.

    And, as a licensed health insurance agent, SEC registered investment advisor, and devotee of Health Economics Nobel Laureate Kenneth J. Arrow PhD, I too have an affinity for behavioral economics with practical knowledge of Medicare, Medicaid, SHIPs, HCFA/CMS, HIPAA, OSHA, SAR-BOX, and the Patriot Act, Concierge Medicine, Social HMOs, Tri-Care, EBM, PQRS, and the PP-ACA to the extent possible.

    Dr. David Marcinko MBA


  9. 2018

    The 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to Arthur Ashkin, and the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland “for their groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics.”

    American physicist Ashkin has been awarded the Nobel Prize for optical tweezers and their application to biological systems, while French physicist Mourou and Canadian physicist Strickland have been awarded the prize for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses.

    Strickland is the first woman in 55 years to be awarded the prize, while 96-year-old Ashkin, becomes the oldest Nobel Laureate.

    Marie Curie was the first-ever woman to win a Nobel Prize in Physics in 1903, recognized for her co-discovery of radiation, followed by Maria Goeppert-Mayer in 1963 for discoveries about nuclear structure.


    Ann Miller RN MHA


  10. Nobel Prize Chemistry

    Ann Miller RN MHA


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: